Skip to main content

2018 NC TWC Advisory Committee

An Advisory Committee, comprised of stakeholder groups representing teachers, principals, superintendents, community and business, collaboratively worked with the New Teacher Center (NTC) to conduct the survey. NTC is a nonpartisan group with a mission to support the development of an effective, dedicated and inspired teaching force. NTC also has vast experience conducting similar surveys across the country. For more information about NTC’s work across the country with TELL surveys, please click here.

2018 NC TWC Advisory Committee Members

Cynthia Martin, NC TWC Survey Chair, NC Department of Public Instruction

Amy Laughter, NC TWC Survey Co-Chair, NC Department of Public Instruction

Angela Farthing, Director of Instructional Advocacy and Organizing, NC Association of Educators

Ashlie Bucy, Deputy Director, North Carolina Business Committee for Education

Geoff Coltrane, Senior Education Advisor, Governor’s Office

LaTonya Patillo, Teacher Advisor, Governor’s Office

Erika Murphy-Newkirk, Senior Executive HR Director, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools

Drew Elliott, Communications Director, NC Department of Public Instruction

Chris Bowling, Principal, Chatham County Schools

Mia Murphy, Outreach and Support Director, NC Virtual Public Schools

Verna Lalbeharie, Digital Teaching & Learning Director, NC Department of Public Instruction

Tom Tomberlin, School Research, Data and Reporting Director, NC Department of Public Instruction

James Merrill, North Carolina Superintendent of the Year, Wake County Public School System

Lisa Godwin, Burroughs Wellcome North Carolina Teacher of the Year, Onslow County Schools

Jason Griffin, Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year, Perquimans County Schools

Bill Medlin, Executive Director, Professional Educators of North Carolina (PENC)